We were looking at Gluten free pizzas

Question

I have a question because this has been abit confusing, my husband and I were looking at Gluten free pizzas at the store, so I decided to read the ingredients on them and some said gluten free but has wheat in it? Does that mean safe to eat because I know wheat is off the list but how can it be gluten free if it has wheat? It did not make sense to me but we did not buy the one’s that said wheat, those were the Paul Newman pizzas saying gluten free but has wheat? here are what the ingredients say Ingredients: MULTIGRAIN CRUST (WHEAT FLOUR, WATER, VEGETABLE OIL [CORN OIL, EXTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL], FLAXSEED, YEAST, SUGAR, SALT, WHOLE OAT FLOUR), LOW MOISTURE PART-SKIM MOZZARELLA CHEESE (PASTEURIZED PART-SKIM MILK, CHEESE CULTURE, SALT, ENZYMES), SAUCE (TOMATOES [DICED TOMATOES, TOMATO JUICE], WATER, TOMATO PASTE, EXTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL, RED WINE VINEGAR, SALT, SUGAR, SPICES, GARLIC*, ONION*), CHEDDAR CHEESE (PASTEURIZED MILK, CHEESE CULTURE, SALT, ENZYMES), PARMESAN CHEESE (PART-SKIM PASTEURIZED COW’S MILK, CHEESE CULTURES, SALT, RENNET), ASIAGO CHEESE (PASTEURIZED PART-SKIM MILK, CHEESE CULTURES, SALT, ENZYMES). *DRIED. CONTAINS: MILK, WHEAT.

in progress 0
Tina 3 years 25 Answers 663 views 0

Answers ( 25 )

  1. That’s odd. I would say no.

  2. Here are the ingredients in it: Ingredients: MULTIGRAIN CRUST (WHEAT FLOUR, WATER, VEGETABLE OIL [CORN OIL, EXTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL], FLAXSEED, YEAST, SUGAR, SALT, WHOLE OAT FLOUR), LOW MOISTURE PART-SKIM MOZZARELLA CHEESE (PASTEURIZED PART-SKIM MILK, CHEESE CULTURE, SALT, ENZYMES), SAUCE (TOMATOES [DICED TOMATOES, TOMATO JUICE], WATER, TOMATO PASTE, EXTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL, RED WINE VINEGAR, SALT, SUGAR, SPICES, GARLIC*, ONION*), CHEDDAR CHEESE (PASTEURIZED MILK, CHEESE CULTURE, SALT, ENZYMES), PARMESAN CHEESE (PART-SKIM PASTEURIZED COW’S MILK, CHEESE CULTURES, SALT, RENNET), ASIAGO CHEESE (PASTEURIZED PART-SKIM MILK, CHEESE CULTURES, SALT, ENZYMES). *DRIED. CONTAINS: MILK, WHEAT.

  3. It said wheat flour in it, but labeled gluten free?

  4. No way. No way that’s GF. Is be calling that company

  5. Definitely not gluten free. Not sure why it would be labeled that way when the very first ingredient says wheat flour

  6. Do you have a picture of the box? This company does not carry a “gluten free” pizza https://www.newmansown.com/food/type/pizza/

    Do you mean that the grocery store labeled it gluten free? Because I’m noticing more and more that stores will put a “gluten free” sign over food that’s “organic” regardless of whether or not it’s gluten free. You should contact and make a complaint against whoever is responsible for the mislabeling.

    Another misleading is “wheat free”. Newman’s Own has a “wheat free” cookie made with barley flour. Almost made that mistake before.

  7. I’m looking on their website it does not list gluten-free pizza. So that’s very odd

    https://www.newmansown.com/food/type/pizza/

  8. Krogers had it in freezer section and in big yellow letters on front of box it said gluten free and then i read ingredients and told my husband we cant get it, I am going to kroger after work today to see if i can find it and take pic of it

  9. my husband found it and big yellow letters it said gluten free on the actual box, and i knew from seeing wheat it couldnt be but we just put it back

  10. If you want to try a trusted brand, Udi’s makes good gfree pizza. Expensive tho

  11. I would definitely be contacting the company. I had this to happen one time at Aldi’s, of which I’m usually happy with. They had a spray oil listed as GF and I asked my granddaughter, 10 years old, to get it for me. She immediately picked it up and said, “ meme, how can this be GF if it is made of flour?” She quickly looked at the ingredient and sure enough, white flour. It all then made sense why at times I was getting sick and couldn’t figure out the source. I had bought it before, but it took a child to investigate. It was immediately off their shelves and a retraction was made. I get extremely sick with gluten and always look at the ingredients. I, also have had the mistake of getting an item because it was listed GF by store and it was Organic. It is sad that you can’t trust labeling, you have to be your own detective!!!😱😡

  12. Eat the pizza then sue them.

  13. Weird. Maybe the store put the label on the box or something.

  14. Be careful with Paul Newman stuff. It is usually in the gluten free section but often it is NOT GF. For example, his fig newtons say wheat free but have barley in them so are not GF. But yet, they are in the GF section at my store…. the pizza you listed above is NOT GF!

  15. There are very loose rules regarding gluten free labeling. Never trust a label. Always go by the ingredients list. Even the certified gluten free labels.

  16. Paul Newman products, like frozen pizza are often in the freezer section near gluten free because they are organic and typically organic and gluten free are in the same section. I have never seen that brand labeled as gluten free. Is that label from the manufacturer or the store? I have never heard of GF wheat, so it isn’t GF.

  17. In the USA, the FDA continues to refuse to enforce labeling laws. Gluten Watchdog has a list of around 30 products that are mislabeled. We have to research everything.

  18. Well it seems after many of us stalked their website, none of their pizzas are Gluten Free. So, best advice do not buy it.

  19. If you have a Costco membership, go there and get the GF frozen pizzas. They are so good and cheaper than. Anywhere else I’ve found.

  20. That’s definitely not gluten free.

  21. Do you have pictures of the packaging?

  22. If it contains wheat it can’t be gluten free

  23. there is a thing called gluten-free wheat

  24. They take gluten out of wheat. Yes they are safe.

Leave an answer

Browse
Browse

Captcha Click on image to update the captcha .